Changes to CTP insurance in South Australia
In 2015, the South Australian Government announced a market-based model for the private insurance sector to provide Compulsory Third Party (“CTP”) insurance from 1 July 2016.

CTP insurance covers you for personal injury claims made by other road users if a motor vehicle accident was your fault. This is different to comprehensive insurance which covers you for property damage and theft.

As the name suggests, CTP insurance is compulsory and premiums are included as part of your vehicle registration. Because the premiums are included in your registration, most vehicle owners do not give any thought to their CTP insurance.

Prior to 1 July 2016, vehicle owners did not have a choice as to their CTP insurer and claims made by injured road users were handled by the Motor Accident Commission’s claims manager, Allianz.

From 1 July 2016, the government introduced a market-based model and announced four approved private insurers, being Allianz, AAMI, QBE and SGIC.
You may have noticed since 1 July 2016 that you have been allocated one of the four approved private insurers on your registration renewal. Since then, the premiums and policy have been identical amongst the four approved private insurers.

From 1 July 2019, vehicle owners will be able to choose which of the four approved private insurers to take out a CTP insurance policy with and the four approved private insurers will be able to set their own premiums within a range prescribed by the CTP Regulator.

The various premiums along with a claimant service rating will be detailed on the registration renewal and it will be a matter of ticking a box to select an insurer.
The premiums will vary depending on a number of factors including the class of vehicle that is being insured.

For more information about the changes to CTP insurance in South Australia, visit the CTP Regulator website (